I spend at least once a week walking a nature preserve in my area. I get there around 8:30 and walk by myself in the silence that surrounds that area when others are off working or at school.

It’s a new experience for myself. Usually there is always someone in tow. A child, a friend, SOMEONE that I have to cater to in either parenting or conversation.

I get to think thoughts .. I get to observe without distraction….

I get to Pokémon hunt without judgement….

14322239_10153827158096570_3143670812307879911_n

It’s by far not the most responsible thing I should be doing with my time. My house is messy, I have homework I should be working, the usual. But it’s been one of the most cathartic moments I’ve found since I felt my world shifted.

14264121_10153827158306570_5857818485177371852_n

Today I went, and it was the day after a major rain. The paths were muddy and puddles were predominant. I nearly bust my butt and skidded a few feet in an attempt to keep my balance. It would have looked hilarious if anyone had been there to see it.

the-silence

 

via Daily Prompt: Silence

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Silence

  1. That sounds like an ideal way to get yourself centered, plus great way to catch Pokemon. I leave it on at work because the wi-fi switches around and my character “walks” around. It helps to hatch the eggs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

