Last semester was a whirlwind of chaos. I usually live in a world of busy, but this time I was barely swimming with my head over the water… With that said, there have been a lot of changes in this Ninja household, which was completely undocumented.

Hubby made first class!!! He is continuing on his career without getting the boot of out  of the Navy. Not only that, but it came with quite a comfortable pay raise. Our              livelihood was saved!! But it also meant that he is now stationed somewhere else… Boo…. The kids and I are staying here until since it should be less than a year. It seemed the logical thing to as we do own a house, I am graduating in May, the kids have school, and my mom who lives with is in poor health. Despite all the reasons to stay, I secretly wished we could have packed up and went with him. It’s hard to transition from deployment to an additional year apart.

My mom ended up having breast cancer that required some extensive surgery and radiation. My mom is a hard lady to keep down though. She was back at work a few days after surgery to remove the lump and even went to work on her last day of radiation. O.O

I am now Vice President of my college’s student government council. I have loved every minute of it. I worked relentlessly to campaign for gender neutral bathrooms…and won… I am also now championing having security procedures that better assist the students. These all deserve their own posts, however. It has been extremely gratifying to feel as if I am helping my campus and promoting a more inclusive environment.

Now with some of the not so pleasant changes:

This was my last semester tutoring. That breaks my heart but also makes me able to breathe a sigh of relief. I learned as much from the peers I tutored as they did from me. They shared their struggles and their triumphs with me, not only within the education spectrum but their day to do day. On the flip side, that can be emotionally tolling and I did not have enough time or support at home to get to take care of myself or my studies as much as I should have. I have to add an extra class to my agenda this semester AND do community service to receive credit for my certificate. Something had to go…

I am up for my second degree black belt at the dojo. But due to a combination of no time and my spirit being broken with Krav being moved to another location. I don’t have the energy to give my time to the dojo as much as is deserved. Plus, I am determined to keep my weekends flexible so that we can visit with the hubby when it’s possible. The other two in my testing cycle are going up and I am so proud of them for them taking that step, but it’s also killing me inside to know I’m being left in the dust. I could always go up next year, and earn my second degree when my son earns his in karate. That seems like it would be good consolation prize.

I still don’t know what to do with my life… And there was added pressure to find out since I will be graduating in May with an Associates in General Studies and a certificate in Women Studies. My husband and I agreed to stay on at the community college and get another certificate until I can figure out exactly what I want to do.

Now that we’ve caught up, it’s time to get back to our regularly scheduled posting 😉

2 thoughts on “Time to Catch Up

  1. Oh WOW! You’ve been a busy lady!
    Congrats to your husband! That must be hard to be apart, but sounds so good in the long run.
    Sorry to hear about your Mom. What a trooper.
    Congrats on all of your accomplishments! I know how hard you’ve worked and how many sacrifices you’ve made to get through. WAY TO GO!!!

Leave a Reply

