The Return of the Lilies

 

 

 

When life is testing you, and pushing you to your limits… remember:Image

 

My garden has been seriously neglected this year. It probably wasn’t HGTV worthy.. but it was my garden and it was my communion with nature and all that.

Now I’m working 6 nights a week and what time I have during the day is taking care of the house, my mother and children and whatever obligations I’ve signed myself up for… It’s been exhausting.

I seriously want to break and just throw in the towel….

But what keeps me going…still is my garden.

It’s like the Charley Brown Christmas tree of gardens right now, mostly dried up dirt.

IMG_20140625_103826_819

Yet look at my lilies! Last year I broke up the insane amount of bunches that they had huddled in and ended up with almost twice as many more this year. In all I ended up having 112 bulbs that in the past week bloomed. The timing couldn’t have been more needed.

IMG_20140618_080524_943IMG_20140617_081712_055IMG_20140617_081004_024

 

This was a reminder to myself that no matter how bleak situations feel, beauty will always triumph if you allow it. I may want to break down and give up.. but the beauty of my character will keep me strong if I continue to focus on the positive.

 

I snipped some and have them in the window so they can be a reminder to my strength. Soon I will need to battle the epic dish pile waiting to be hand washed since our dishwasher decided to break. (See this month is cursed!)

IMG_20140625_105300_181

 

These lilies never last long, so I’m trying to make the best of enjoying them while I can!

 

2 thoughts on “The Return of the Lilies

Leave a Reply

