Maybe I Can’t Make It As a Teacher…

Being a first year student, I have to take this course called First Year Experience. It was required of me to detail my college plan, and then career plan..

It’s like being asked “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

Well folks.. I’m still growing up… at 29 with 2 kids and a husband of almost 9 years..

Don’t judge me!

In fact. Why does my going to college have to have an end plan? The sole purpose of me going back to college was to get back some of my youth that was taken away from me at a young age. At 16 I was taking care of my mom.  By the time I was 18 I was working sometimes 7 days a week at the hotel. And if you did the math correctly I was married at age 20 and had my son just a short while after.

This is the one path I’m traveling that is solely mine. Just Faith being awesome Faith. Not being someone’s daughter, wife or mother. This is the one thing that I am flying by the seat of my pants solo..

And not to brag. but if I was doing this wrong, why am I currently getting a 96 in all three of my classes?! (Seriously.. how does this happen?)

For these two projects I dabbled at the idea of being a teacher, because it’s what everyone says I will be good at.. and you know what.. me and kids are like two peas in a pod.. But volunteering in my children’s classrooms has left a bitter taste in my mouth. The teachers have always been stellar.. but the school system majorly sucks. And I don’t think it’s going to get any better anytime soon.

But for the sake of my two projects, I narrowed it down to perhaps secondary education (middle school) because I feel that’s when children get lost the easiest. I figured I could set kids on the right track if they got lost in elementary and inspire them as they transition into high school.. Like a brick layer of awesomeness..

But…

I used to firmly believe that there were no stupid questions…

Until I went to college.. not only are these “adults” asking stupid questions that just required them to think a little about the matter at hand… but they’re just not paying attention..

So the same stupid ass questions are getting asked OVER AND OVER

I wish I were kidding..

And my professors.. I’ve never seen one of them be anything other than patient in these situations. They will answer the same question over and over again… Which leads me to believe that this is the norm…

In college.. wtf..

I can’t do that.. I get irritated just having to listen to this carousel of questions. I would be out of control at having to actually BE on the carousel. I can’t even do it with my kids.. I tell you something ONCE. It’s on YOU, not ME, to make sure you receive the information given. If it’s not clear, than I can understand the need to clarify.. but I should only have to clarify it ONCE. Does that make sense?

Repeating the same question over and over… is not clarification.. to me it means people aren’t listening the first time…

And if they’re not paying attention to the professor.. what the hell are they doing?

WASTING MY TIME!!

On a lighter note: I did end up getting 100% on both those projects!

Leave a Reply

