Building the seeds of kindness.

I have found two very inspirational women to follow on WordPress. In their own way they are making this world a kinder place. You really should check them out: Apartment Wife and Project Light to Life. They have reminded me that my goal in this world is to try to make this world a better place in any small way I can.

Last week as I was coming into work I greeted an older couple as they were walking into the lobby for breakfast. I make a point to greet everyone with a smile, a good morning and geniune concern as I ask about their day. It’s not something my Uncle asks of us, but I find it important and I included it into training new clerks. My reaction back is often hit or miss. You’ve got people that say good morning back and ask how I’m doing myself. You’ve got others that completely ignore me and just walk off into breakfast. MEh

I went about my day which usually consists of facebook and wordpress at this point. …The gentleman from earlier came to my desk to check out. He told me that he was having a rough few days, and he had woken up feeling defeated. Then when he and his wife ran into me and I greeted them and asked them how they were, I made him feel like I really cared. He said I changed his whole day around.

I made his day better..

Seriously, never underestimate the influence you put into this world..With no effort at all I turned around this man, and who knows what effects that had on him and his wife as they continued on their journey?

Small things like that can, and should make you feel good about yourself. I get told a lot by guests or people just calling for rates that I am the most cheerful person around. On numerous occasions I’ve had people tell me that they specifically chose our hotel because I was so friendly over the phone. I’ve had my fair share of calling hotels and being greeted by apathetic clerks that it gives you a bad vibe of the whole place. I always thought of it more as a good business practice, but as I get older I realize it’s just..ME..

After reading the two ladies above I have also come to the realization that my own kids aren’t aware of this.. I’ve told them over and over again.. but they really don’t get it… YET

This is my newest mission: To have my own children see the power they have in the world. And to use that power for greatness!

We started last week at the laundromat. We’ve all been stressed with the lack of water. It’s been a rough week all around.

The laundromat though.. was a blast to the past for me.. We went to the same one my mother and I used to go to. It was chaotic and packed, something I never really saw because my mom used to take me at like 10 in the evening…

Image

The kids, who do very little to particpate in laundry other than to keep producing it, loved watching and identifying what clothes where spinning in the dryer.

With some downtime we grabbed a notebook and wrote a list of things we could do to help others.

We didn’t get far in our list before my son decided to  impliment the first thing on the list.. Here’s what we got to:

1. Introduce yourself. We discussed mainly with kids who feel out of place. We discussed WHY some kids might feel shy or nervous and how important it can be to make them feel welcome

2. Open doors for others. It’s a just a small way to show respect for the people around you.

3. Share. Even gum can be split in half to be shared with someone.. But Miss had to add (rightfully) only if it hasn’t been chewed yet.

By this point my son saw a little boy sitting in the corner looking bored out of his mind. There was another larger family playing nearby and he watched them play wistfully. My son got up, and introduced himself. Then he sat and played with the boy until it was time for him to go. The boy’s grandmother, who said the boy doesn’t get to play with others often, was thrilled that my son had come over to play. She rewarded my son with with candy and soda. It’s not something I usually allow my son to have.. and any other time I would have made him decline. This time, I think it worked out. It was his karmic reward and who am I to stand in the way of that.

His sister, who clearly felt jaded because she didn’t get any soda or candy, pouted in her own corner. He went over and shared his bounty with her.

IMG_20130816_121743_404

My kids are destined to change the world, one small kind act at a time 🙂

7 thoughts on “Building the seeds of kindness.

  1. That is wonderful! And after reading this post.. I realize, yes I know about my ability to change the world and make it a better place, because I strive to do so, but I don’t think my children get it. Hmmm something for me to work on

Leave a Reply

